Search Mailing List Archives

Limit search to: Subject & Body Subject Author
Sort by: Reverse Sort
Limit to: All This Week Last Week This Month Last Month
Select Date Range     through    

[liberationtech] Announcing finalists (and soon winners) for the Access Tech Innovation Prize

Brian Duggan bcdugga at
Thu Dec 6 12:08:39 PST 2012

Thanks, Gustaf!

A quick note: Flashproxy was started and is maintained by David Fiefield at
Stanford University. The Open Technology Institute developed a proof of
concept that demonstrated that Flashproxy could be easily distributed
through a Facebook application. OTI's application was strictly to fully
develop the Facebook application, and David was supportive of our

We at OTI couldn't come up with a decent name for the Facebook application.
Just wanted to clarify that David, not OTI, is the primary driver behind
Flashproxy :)

Brian Duggan
Open Technology Institute

On Thu, Dec 6, 2012 at 1:45 PM, Gustaf Björksten <gustaf at>wrote:

> Hi everybody,
> The finalists of the Access Technology Innovation Prize have been
> announced. The projects selected by the judges as finalists are:
> Blackout Resilience Award: Briar, Linux en Caja + BogotaMesh +
> RedPaTodos + Hackbo, Project Byzantium, RePress - Greenhost
> Making Crypto Easy: Enigmail, GPG Clipboard - Open Technology Institute,
> HTTPS Everywhere - Electronic Frontier Foundation, LEAP Encryption
> Access Project
> Freedom of Expression Award (Golden Jellybean 1): Free Network
> Foundation, Initiative for China + Tahrir Project, Open Observatory for
> Network Interference (OONI), Project Gulliver - Greenhost, Storymaker -
> Small World News and Guardian Project
> Grassroots Technology Award (Golden Jellybean 2): Flashproxy - Open
> Technology Institute, Haroon Rashid Shah, Interactive Voice
> Response-Based Market Information System - Marye, Mengistu Miskir,
> Maletsabisa Molapo, Reticle - Malice Afterthought
> Facebook Award: Map Kibera Trust, BigWebNoise, Seven Sisters, Social
> Media for Democracy
> For further information on the projects please follow the link below:
> The winners will be announced this Monday 10th December at an awards
> party in New York City. All welcome to attend (please RSVP to
> rsvp at The official invitation for the awards ceremony and
> party can be found at the following location:
> All the very best,
> --
> Gustaf Björksten
> Technology Director
> Access
> GPG ID: 0xFEB3D12A
> GPG Fingerprint: C10F FC31 B92A 3A32 40A0 1A72 43AC A427 FEB3 D12A
> --
> Unsubscribe, change to digest, or change password at:
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <>

More information about the liberationtech mailing list