Search Mailing List Archives

Limit search to: Subject & Body Subject Author
Sort by: Reverse Sort
Limit to: All This Week Last Week This Month Last Month
Select Date Range     through    

[liberationtech] Announcing finalists (and soon winners) for the Access Tech Innovation Prize

Brian Conley brianc at
Thu Dec 6 12:38:16 PST 2012

Thanks all, speaking for Small World News, I'd like to say we have been
excited and honored to work with the Guardian Project, as well as our other
partners in the development of StoryMaker, Free Press Unlimited and Radio
Free Asia, without whom it wouldn't be possible.

We look forward to hearing whom among this group if exceptional finalists
is chosen. I wish I could be in New York next week, but we are currently in
Cairo and will be in Iraq working on testing and implementation of the
alpha version.

We will be making a more public announcement soon about the project. Feel
free to email me privately if you'd like to know more.

On Dec 6, 2012 10:09 PM, "Brian Duggan" <bcdugga at> wrote:

> Thanks, Gustaf!
> A quick note: Flashproxy was started and is maintained by David Fiefield
> at Stanford University. The Open Technology Institute developed a proof of
> concept that demonstrated that Flashproxy could be easily distributed
> through a Facebook application. OTI's application was strictly to fully
> develop the Facebook application, and David was supportive of our
> application.
> We at OTI couldn't come up with a decent name for the Facebook
> application. Just wanted to clarify that David, not OTI, is the primary
> driver behind Flashproxy :)
> Brian Duggan
> Technologist
> Open Technology Institute
> On Thu, Dec 6, 2012 at 1:45 PM, Gustaf Björksten <gustaf at>wrote:
>> Hi everybody,
>> The finalists of the Access Technology Innovation Prize have been
>> announced. The projects selected by the judges as finalists are:
>> Blackout Resilience Award: Briar, Linux en Caja + BogotaMesh +
>> RedPaTodos + Hackbo, Project Byzantium, RePress - Greenhost
>> Making Crypto Easy: Enigmail, GPG Clipboard - Open Technology Institute,
>> HTTPS Everywhere - Electronic Frontier Foundation, LEAP Encryption
>> Access Project
>> Freedom of Expression Award (Golden Jellybean 1): Free Network
>> Foundation, Initiative for China + Tahrir Project, Open Observatory for
>> Network Interference (OONI), Project Gulliver - Greenhost, Storymaker -
>> Small World News and Guardian Project
>> Grassroots Technology Award (Golden Jellybean 2): Flashproxy - Open
>> Technology Institute, Haroon Rashid Shah, Interactive Voice
>> Response-Based Market Information System - Marye, Mengistu Miskir,
>> Maletsabisa Molapo, Reticle - Malice Afterthought
>> Facebook Award: Map Kibera Trust, BigWebNoise, Seven Sisters, Social
>> Media for Democracy
>> For further information on the projects please follow the link below:
>> The winners will be announced this Monday 10th December at an awards
>> party in New York City. All welcome to attend (please RSVP to
>> rsvp at The official invitation for the awards ceremony and
>> party can be found at the following location:
>> All the very best,
>> --
>> Gustaf Björksten
>> Technology Director
>> Access
>> GPG ID: 0xFEB3D12A
>> GPG Fingerprint: C10F FC31 B92A 3A32 40A0 1A72 43AC A427 FEB3 D12A
>> --
>> Unsubscribe, change to digest, or change password at:
> --
> Unsubscribe, change to digest, or change password at:
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <>

More information about the liberationtech mailing list