Search Mailing List Archives


Limit search to: Subject & Body Subject Author
Sort by: Reverse Sort
Limit to: All This Week Last Week This Month Last Month
Select Date Range     through    

[liberationtech] LIMITS Workshop, Call for Papers

Doug Schuler douglas at publicsphereproject.org
Sun Nov 5 14:24:05 PST 2017


This should be a great conference! I hope to see you all there. Please distribute to anybody who might be interested. 
  
LIMITS 2018
Fourth Workshop on Computing within Limits
May 12-13, Toronto, Canada



computingwithinlimits.org <http://computingwithinlimits.org/>


ABOUT ACM LIMITS 2018

The ACM LIMITS workshop aims to foster discussion on the impact of present and future ecological, material, energetic, and societal limits on computing. These topics are seldom discussed in contemporary computing research. A key aim of the workshop is to promote innovative, concrete research, potentially of an interdisciplinary nature, that focuses on technologies, critiques, techniques, and contexts for computing within fundamental economic and ecological limits. A longer-term goal is to build a community around relevant topics and research. We hope to impact society through the design and development of computing systems in the abundant present for use in a future of limits. This year we are colocating for the first time with ICT4S (ICT for Sustainability).

PROGRAM COMMITTEE

Oliver Bates, Lancaster University, o.bates at lancaster.ac.uk <mailto:o.bates at lancaster.ac.uk>
Eli Blevis, Indiana University, eblevis at indiana.edu <mailto:eblevis at indiana.edu>
Jay Chen, NYU, jay.chen at nyu.edu <mailto:jay.chen at nyu.edu> (co-chair)
Steve Easterbrook, University of Toronto, sme at cs.toronto.edu <mailto:sme at cs.toronto.edu>
Elina Eriksson, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, elina at kth.se <mailto:elina at kth.se>
Kurtis Heimerl, University of Washington, kheimerl at cs.washington.edu <mailto:kheimerl at cs.washington.edu>
Lara Houston, Goldsmiths, University of London, l.houston at gold.ac.uk <mailto:l.houston at gold.ac.uk>
Ann Light, University of Sussex, ann.light at sussex.ac.uk <mailto:ann.light at sussex.ac.uk>
Bonnie Nardi, UC Irvine, nardi at ics.uci.edu <mailto:nardi at ics.uci.edu> (co-chair)
Lisa Nathan, UBC, lisa.nathan at ubc.ca <mailto:lisa.nathan at ubc.ca>
Teresa Cerratto Pargman, Stockholm University, tessy at dsv.su.se <mailto:tessy at dsv.su.se>
Daniel Pargman, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, pargman at kth.se <mailto:pargman at kth.se>
Don Patterson, Westmont College, dpatterson at westmont.edu <mailto:dpatterson at westmont.edu>
Birgit Penzenstadler, bpenzens at gmail.com <mailto:bpenzens at gmail.com>
Barath Raghavan, ICSI, barath at icsi.berkeley.edu <mailto:barath at icsi.berkeley.edu>
Christian Remy, University of Zurich, remy at ifi.uzh.ch <mailto:remy at ifi.uzh.ch>
Debra Richardson, UC Irvine, djr at ics.uci.edu <mailto:djr at ics.uci.edu>
Nithya Sambasivan, Google, nithyas at gmail.com <mailto:nithyas at gmail.com>
Douglas Schuler, The Evergreen State College, douglas at publicsphereproject.org
Bill Tomlinson, Victoria University of Wellington, bill.tomlinson at vuw.ac.nz <mailto:bill.tomlinson at vuw.ac.nz>

IMPORTANT DATES

Abstract registration deadline: Feb 2, 2018, 11:59pm Pacific Time
Paper submission deadline: Feb 9, 2018, 11:59pm Pacific Time
Paper reviews available: March 7, 2018


Douglas Schuler
douglas at publicsphereproject.org <mailto:douglas at publicsphereproject.org>
Twitter: @doug_schuler


A Mobilization Story: Patterns for the Impending Emergency <http://publicsphereproject.org/sites/default/files/Patterns%20for%20the%20Impending%20Emergency.pdf>

Creating the World Citizen Parliament <http://interactions.acm.org/archive/view/may-june-2013/creating-the-world-citizen-parliament>
     
 <http://publicsphereproject.org/curated/all-patterns.html>Liberating Voices!  A Pattern Language for Communication Revolution <http://publicsphereproject.org/curated/all-patterns.html>
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mailman.stanford.edu/pipermail/liberationtech/attachments/20171105/ca4381f2/attachment.html>


More information about the liberationtech mailing list